Logo

2003 F90 Compression Test Results ??

newboater67

Contributing Member
I got compression results of 210, 210, 210, and 175 PSI, on a 2003 Yamaha F90TLRB (61P L 1000850). The service manual says compression should be a minimum of 135 PSI. Do I have a problem with cylinder #4? I'm new to this but everything I've read says they should be within 10% of each other.

you do have a problem...the motor will run but the time to fix it is now to prevent heavy expense later..take a reading with a cold engine...take a reading with a warm/hot engine..take a reading after adding a little oil to the low piston...record all these readings and get back to us...

couple of squirts from a small oil can..you want enough to get to the edges of the piston...you are actually checking for a worn ring or cylinder..was the #4 the last cylinder checked?the reason i ask was the battery turning the motor strongly and at the same rpm as the others?retake the readings with a strong battery and do #4 first...if the reading are the same you are going to have to pull the head and see whats going on if you decide to address the problem now.......

I retested cylinder 4. It was 175 cold, 175 hot, and 185 with a couple squirts of oil. I didn't recheck the other 3 cylinders yet since they all read the same in the initial tests. I haven't done a leak down test yet. It'll probably have to wait for this weekend.

I don't really know. I was going to check the valves this weekend before I did a leak test.