Logo

1998 Merc 90 2-stroke dilemma

Greetings,

A friend and I recently purchased a ‘83 Mako 171 Angler with a ‘98 Mercury 90 2 stroke. We did a sea trial and the boat ran fine.

On our first trip out post purchase, we were heading out of the inlet and I had given the boat some throttle after clearing the no wake signs. There were some bigger waves from an oncoming boat, and I’m new at this and still not comfortable so I backed down on the throttle before hitting the wave, at that point the motor made a strange noise and sort of bogged down. I also thought there was a burning smell, but that could have been from any number of boats in the inlet I suppose.

From that point on, we’ve had issues with the motor. The above might be unnecessary information but figured it could hold relevance to one of you with more experience.

The issue we’re having now is in higher RPMs. The boat starts fine, idles good hooked to a hose, but tends to sputter some when idling in the water for some reason. But the main issue or thing that is weird to me is that you can cruise out from anywhere from 1K-2K RPMs all day with zero issue. And then if you give it throttle, she’ll ride beautifully for all of 10 seconds at speed, before starting to choke out and slow down on her own. Then, if you lower the throttle and ride around at 2K RPM for another 10 minutes, you can open the throttle and take her fast again for another 10 seconds before the issue repeats. Sometimes, it’ll even stall if you back down to hard on the throttle or stay in neutral for too long.

Sorry if this is a long-winded explanation, just figured the more details might help one of you diagnose the issue.

Really hoping to get out some days during the summer when it’s calm enough to help clear my head and socially distance the best way I know how.

Definitely appreciate any of you taking the time to read this and provide any feedback.