Logo

1998 8HP 2-stroke will not charge the battery

whitegreg56

Regular Contributor
It's a pull-start with a simple rectifier (4 diodes). All the diodes have been checked...forward and reverse bias. The alternator winding checks out OK, with no shorts to ground. When the engine is started, the battery voltage increases by maybe .01 volts even if the engine is "raced". I used Ancor marine cable between the engine and the battery. I used Ancor adhesive-lined heat-shrink terminals. Is this likely a high-resistance somewhere in the wiring? It's in a sailboat with perhaps 20' of cable between the rectifier and the battery. Oh yeah, I am an Electrical Engineer!

Measure the DVA voltage across the stator’s charge wires (typically Yellow wires) while connected
to the rectifier. At idle, DVA should be between 17-25V DVA. If not, disconnect the Yellow wires from the
regulator/rectifier and retest for 17-50V DVA at idle. If not, the stator is possibly faulty.

If its a black stator its only a 4 amp output at 6000rpm, so you wont see much increase if just racedasit has to overcome the internal battery and wiring resistance.

Regardless of which stator- you should should show an increase in VDC as the rpms increase. Typically, at 2500 rpm, you shoulld have a reading of 13.1 VDC (measured at the battery terminals) or better. What kind of rectifier is attached- Mercury (or Mallory or CDI aftermarket), or a DYI from Radio Shaft?

The cable between the engine and the battery is 16 AWG. It has a resistance of .004 ohms/foot.
With 40 feet of cable, that works out to 0.16 ohms. The stator resistance is supposed to be ~0.65 ohms.
The rectifier is a Sierra (aftermarket). I took out the original because I thought it might have been the
problem. In fact, the original tests OK. There should be an increase in voltage at the battery when the
engine is "raced". This should be the case even if the alternator is only putting out a couple of amperes.