Logo

1986 25 foot Mercruiser 350 engine questions

Vai1953

Hi All,
I'm new here, I've been a mechanic all my life. Owned boats for most of it, with outboard engines. I've had only two in board, and I'm working on the second one now. I bought the boat as a basket case, last year. The boat sat for 6 years. I've pumped out 70 gallons of gas, I've rebuilt the carb, replaced cap, rotor, plugs, new water pump on motor and in the lower unit, changed water separated,changed oil and filter, changed the Thermostat sensor. I've had it in the water about 6 times and each time I've been towed in. It would run great, but it felt like it didn't have the power it should, it would get up on plain and would run for about 10 minutes then start to loose power, and oil pressure would come down. Then stall out and not start again, would act like it was hot, but the reading on the dash would show 140 to 160. I would bring it home, the next day I would hook up muffs and start it and it would run great idle nice. One thing that keeps throwing me too, is that every time I check one or two plug wires were off on the port side only. I've tightened the connections to make sure they don't come off. I've checked the oil to make sure there isn't any water bubbles in the oil or any white clumps around the fill cap or on the stick. I'm thinking maybe some blow by coming from around the heads and exhaust manifold, kicking off the plug wires, a head gasket? There's no sound or any noise coming from around the head or exhaust manifold. Anyone have any ideas?
thanks for any help, Vince:(

Did you clean the fuel tank after the 70 gals were removed? checked the anti-syphon valve and the condition of the fuel line?

You need to figure if you are loosing fuel or loosing spark when it stalls out...not sure what "oil pressure would come down" means - drops 10 lbs or goes to zero...

on the plug wires, are the looms still there? proper set of wires or some hacked auto set?