Logo

1983 Mercruiser 470 (3.7L) overheating issue

gbartsr

I took a 1993 Lund American with Mercruiser 470 (3.7L) in it. I finally got it running with new points and condenser, however when I took it out on the water it overheated within 5 minutes. There was water that blew out of the "radiator" cap, so would this mean the cap isn't holding the correct pressure, or thermostat is staying closed, or the water pump, or the impeller??? I was an auto mechanic for several years in the army and then afterwards, but this marine engine cooling system I'm not familiar with as of yet, I'm learning as I go. Any offers of help as to what I need to start with here would be great.

I posted before, but I don't think it worked. If it did work, then I'm sorry to post on same subject again.

Always start with the impeller and water pump kit. From there the water goes thru the rubber hose to the transom and then into the motors heat exchanger. The out from the heat exchanger goes to the riser.Heat exchanger is 3 inch but the 4 inch is a lot better
If you boiled the AF out ,that was hot. These motors do not take kindly to a overheat. It warps the head.
Refill with a 50/50 mix of regular AF, and never let the engine temp get above 180 max

Pull the plugs & check for moisture. Normally #1 & 4 will show signs of moisture if you have lost the head gasket. If no sign of moisture do a compression check. Like Bt Doctur said these engines do not like over heating.