Logo

1976 70 hp spark issue

JEguy

Hello all, first post here and needing a bit of educating. Let me start by saying, I am by no means a marine mechanic of any type. I am a a boat lover and chronic tinkerer. I have a hobby of finding boats no one else wants and trying to breathe a little life back into them, by nature I spend more time getting old motors running than I do putzing about on the boat.

My current project is my personal fishing boat. The motor on it finally gave up and said no more. I had this 76 70hp than I had been slowly piecing together to one day hang on my boat. We got it hung and took it for a test run. It started well and idled but died when put into gear, I figured I had not been thorough on the low speed jets and started her back up. If I gave it hard full throttle she took off like a bullet and up the river we went.

I came home pulled the carbs and attended to the low speed jets, and headed back to the water. Now, she starts, idles (roughly though), and you can ease down the throttle and she push the boat at low speed, however, she doesn't make full power any more. I came home, checked over everything, even checked the timing (set by the Joe Reeves method), I am confident in my link and sync. My compression numbers are 1) 125, 2) 125, 3) 122. I have a strong blue spark that will jump a 7/16 gap.

It's almost like she has a misfire. We tried pulling plug wires to diagnose that and what we found is in the video below, I have never encountered this and don't know what to make of it, so I came here for help. Sorry for the long post, and any and all thoughts and suggestions are appreciated.

https://youtu.be/MhHh6-NnzBo

Your #1 coil looks like it needs to be replaced. Maybe do all 3 of them they look original. Do you have water on any of the plugs?

I did go ahead and order 3 new coils. I ordered the CDI coils, I would prefer the OEM version, but a budget is a budget and the CDI's we more affordable.

I do not have water on the plugs.