Logo

Vibration

insp140

"Hi all, I'm new to this b

"Hi all, I'm new to this board and need some help.I have a 2004 baha 26'er with a merc. 5.7 250hp in/out bravo 3 drive. On a recent outing i noticed a vibration at low speeds, [between 5-10 knots,the whole boat will vibrate]. this vibration will stop at higher speeds. I checked the props and found some small nicks. could these make the boat vibrate? Please help, shaking all over!}"

How many hours are on the moto

How many hours are on the motor and outdrive and when was the last time that both were serviced?? I would hit all of the grease fittings and see if it improves.. When lubing the Gimbal bearing Have the engine at idle ( the fitting should be on the side of the transom ).. Also look at the prop and see if it is out of round or if there is a wobble.

"the engine and drive are both

"the engine and drive are both professionly maitained and serviced in the spring, april. I don't know the hours because my clock stopped working. I just came back from testing the boat again and the vibrations are also felt when the engine is in neutral. worse vibs are between 1000-1200rpm. could it be a bad spark-plug."

"You should have been given se

"You should have been given service receipts that detail what maintenance has been performed. That info. would tell you if the spark plugs have ever been changed. One bad spark plug would cause the engine to shake but w/a V-8, I don't think it would cause the whole boat to shake violently. Prop or shaft damage is more likely the culprit. Have them inspected."

"Tom,

You can change the

"Tom,

You can change the plugs and test again but im thinking something along the lines of Gimbal bearing or u-joints, I just had to replace mine the other day and I had about the same symptoms that you do.. I am not sure which one was causing the vibration but I figured while in there I would replace both along with some other stuff that Guy and some other people on this site recommended.."