Logo

AQ130C Please Help

bwingler

"I am new to boating and bough

"I am new to boating and bought a 73 runabout with an aq130c and 270 stern drive. I have not been in the water yet. It keeps overheating, here is what i have done so far.

compression 1-170 2-150 3-180 4-180
Is my head gasket blown between 1 and 2?

Next i checked impeller looks new, nothing broke or missing, looks like new ones in picture.

Replaced all hose's.

Removed thermostat and heated water to 140 using a therometer and it opened fully.

Rodded out the oil cooler, was not clogged up.

Hooked up the garden hose to the water pump and the motor runs fine, dont have earmuffs that fit the 270, goes up to 160 then falls back then goes up higher and falls back alittle and finally goes to 200+ and i shut off the engine. I bring the rpms up to 2,000 and it does not make it get cooler. Also same test with out thermostat and same results. I am stumped. Water coming out the exhaust is hot.

Also i dont have any motor mounts and the motor leans forward some but have found nothing broke or missing. pictures at www.nature-powered.com/boat

Barry"

"Barry, regarding the overheat

"Barry, regarding the overheating, check the condition of the raw water hose connector in your outdrive. They become corroded/perforated with age and they are the most common source of overheating in Volvo Penta AQs due to air ingress.

88060.jpg

88061.jpg

Luckily, they are cheap and easy to replace.

http://www.marineengine.com/parts/part_details.php?pnum=SIE18-2778&returntopage=80240788.htm

Also, lower compression in two cylinders does not necessarily mean a blown gasket: it could be leaky valves or piston rings. Also, many early AQ 4-cylinder packages did not have originally front mounts installed, but I think it would be a good idea to install them."

"If you are getting a good flo