Logo

How many drains winterize

col_gino

I have a 1996 Maxum 1900 SR wi

I have a 1996 Maxum 1900 SR with a 4.3 L Mercruiser Gen+ (Vortec).

I am new to stern drives and need some winterizing help. Live in Canada so must be done right. Last shop in my area shut down so have to do it myself.

Have read quite a bit here about flushing with antifreeze and will do this.

I want to confirm how many drains are on my engine. I see 2 on the starboard side and 1 on the port. These are blue plastic thumbscrews. Is there anything else I need to drain? The previous owner told me this is all he drained but he kept it in a heated garage so less of an issue.

Thanks.

"There are two per side. One

"There are two per side. One for the manifold and one for the engine block.

Run the engine with muffs to warm the oil. Lube the gimbal bearing at idle with marine bearing grease and lube the other zerk fittings.

Remove the flame arrestor and spray fogging oil into the carb while keeping the RPMs up so it won't stall and shut the engine off when the engine starts to smoke.

Change the oil and filter. Remove the 4 drain plugs--HOT WATER, WEAR RUBBER GLOVES-- and use a 10" peice of heavy solder or other soft wire to probe the holes to get the debris out. Water should then come out in a solid stream.

Disconnect the top of the water circ. pump hose and hold it below the pump to drain it. Reinstall the four plugs snug, not tight. Pour a gallon of pink antifreeze into the big hose you just drained and reconnect it.

Now remove the four smaller hoses on the T'stat hsg. and pour 1/2 gallon of pink stuff into each one and reconnect. Remove the port side water inlet hose from the water circ. pump and pour 1/2 gallon of pink stuff into it.