Logo

Volvo penta AQ125a wont stay idling

diam88

"I have a AQ125A motor.I repla

"I have a AQ125A motor.I replaced the timing belt.has new cap & rotor,coil, electronic rotor so no need to set points.When I start it it revs hi then stalls.I can keep it running but I have to keep the engine reving Hi @3000-5000rpms runs smooth.I can't get it to idle.please help"

"Bad gas would not help, howev

"Bad gas would not help, however what is the posibility that when installing the timing belt that someting moved on you. Also did yoy set your points to the right spacing."

i could be off on the spacing.

i could be off on the spacing.When i replaced the belt I couldnt find the mark on the ACC wheel being ca roted{ignition wheel}So I tried my best to line the rotor to the casing mark.If thats the problem what other way can I line it up with the timing notch.

how would you set points.im ne

how would you set points.im new at this boat engine stuff.also what other thing can i do to make sure timing is right

"Could be junk in the carburet