Logo

Mercruiser 50 Alpha Shuts down while cruising wakeboarding

cosmo

"Hello All,
I'm new to th

"Hello All,
I'm new to the board. I have a 2003 Maxum that I bought new. It has a 5L Alpha MPI engine that runs great, starts great, plenty of power for my needs.

Howevever I have a recurring problem since we bought the boat. The engine shuts down without any notice, when we are cruising, wakeboarding, high speeds, low speeds. We could be crusing for a few minutes, or for half an your, and then all of the sudden, it's like someone turns the key off. I put the shifter in neutral, starts right up, and we go again. I get a skiier up, and then it dies. You can see the danger here.

My local Mercury shop has replaced the cap and rotors two years in a row, and no success. We just got a new cap and rotors, and all the service bulletins done. Still have the problem. The first year we got the boat, the Maxum dealer replaced the fuel pump, no success.

The Mercury rep is going to be in town next week, and wants to re-flash my computer. What does this do? I think it might be a computer problem because the engine runs great.

Some people have said it may be the kill switch. There is no pattern as to when this dying happens. Any ideas?

Thank you."

"I would suspect the shift int

"I would suspect the shift interrupt switch. With an MPI engine its a NC switch, so if it is flakey in any way, or the wiring is iffy, you can easily get extraneous engine outages. Check the switch in forward, neutral and reverse; it must be centered in the V notch. If not, the cables need adjusting.
Rod"

"Rod,
Thanks for your feedbac

"Rod,