Logo

How to Determine Year of Motor and 1 other really stupid question

jmanville

"I have a Johnson GT Venom 200

"I have a Johnson GT Venom 200hp.} The model number is V2008TLETF and serial number is G 03501780.

How can I determine how old it is?

Secondly, (here's the stupid question - I am new to boating so bare with me) what kind of gas do I put in it? It's not a mix right?

The boat seems to run fine (had it out twice for about an 45 minutes each). There seems to be 1/2 a tank registering. Is there anything I should do, or put into the gas prior to filling the boat back up?

Thanks to anyone who responds"

"Jared, you have a 1993 model

"Jared, you have a 1993 model but believe your model number is V200"S"TLETF. No big deal though.

And yes, this just takes regular gas (I don't have a manual for newer than 1990, so can't say for sure if it's calling for greater than 87 octane, but in "most" cases, regular is just fine).

It is an oil injected model, so there will be an oil tank that you will need to keep filled up with modern 2 cycle marine oil.

The only thing that I would run in your tank is some fuel stablizer (available at marine or auto parts stores).

Modern gas may have up to 10% ethanol (alcohol or methanol - sometimes called E10) in it and it's "bad" for outboards. The stablizer helps out and is recommended by the mfg's...

One other note, if you didn't get the operators manual with this, you may want to pick up a repair or service manual. Even if you don't plan on doing any/all of the work yourself, it is great reference and source of information..."

"Graham,
I can't thank yo

"Graham,
I can't thank you enough. I did not expect to get this much information. This has been extremely helpful.