Logo

57 280 Volvo prop questions

tmdart

"Hello everyone, I am new to t

"Hello everyone, I am new to this site. I did a search of the forums before I asked this, but nothing really 100% answered my questions.

I have a 26' 1979 Bayliner Saratoga Cabin Cruiser with a 5.7 / 280 Volvo Penta. I have been having issues with my boat (for lack of a better term) "slipping" out of gear when going just barely fast enough to produce a wake. I have been told by several people that the bushing on the prop is most likely to blame, and there is a just barely noticable "wobble" to it when you spin it by hand.

So here is the problem. My prop is held in place by a cone, with a long bolt running threw it's center. I have read on this forum that there are tabs you have to bend back to remove this cone. The round outerpart of the prop (where the blades actualy attach) sticks out so far that there is no way to reach in behind the cone with even my fingers. The steel part likes about 1/2 of an inch and it would stick out just as far as the cone.

I know that these parts could be cut off, but the prop I have is in excellent shape and is stainless, it would save me a large chunk of cash if I could get the bushing in this one fixed, so I am trying to save it.

Does anyone know how to get the prop off in my case? Thanks in advance for your help."

"Unscrew the center bolt, unsc

"Unscrew the center bolt, unscrew the cone. The tabbed washers are only used on cones with no center bolts."

"Thanks for the responce, I ha

"Thanks for the responce, I have tried to unscrew the cone several times but it does not want to budge. I have tried tapping it slightly with a hammer, and used some WD-40 as well. I was going to try some heat, but I didn't want to mess anything up, as I want to reuse the prop. I was also thinking of getting some "lime-a-way" or "C-L-R" to see if there is some hidden calcium build-up."

"Put a 2 x 4 soft-wood between