Logo

Here we go again2nd try at getting into boating

col_potter

"I'm new to the boating sc

"I'm new to the boating scene. I posted last week with what I thought was my new boat. Long story short, it didn't work out. The 3.0 Mercruiser started making an awful knocking noise, I'm not sure what it was - rod bearing would be my guess. It ran perfect on the test drive, and for about 30 minutes this time before the noise started. I took the boat back and got my money back.....Dodged a bullet. But now I'm looking again. I don't have a lot of money to spend, about $2500, so I know I'm not going to get anything new or fancy. I'm primarily using the boat for pulling tubes or skiers and running around my local lakes (upstate SC) Fishing maybe once in a while. I've narrowed my search down to two boats and I'd like some opinions from those of you in the know.

1st Choice - 1970 Tri-hull bow rider. Brand is Lakeflite. The boat is 18' and is powered by a 305 chevy producing 180hp. It's a Jetdrive. The boat has been completely gone through last year. New seat covers, new flooring, new carpet and the lower part of the motor completely redone. Trailor is good. Everything works on both the boat and trailer. Boat is sharp! I dont know much about any kind of boat - especially jet drives. I understand that they can run in more shallow water because of the jet drive type set up. I know it will eat gas. Anybody know how much cruising time to expect pulling a tube vs. just cruising the lake? Thoughts on the boat in general? -- Good / bad? I can probably buy this boat for $1200.