Logo

Going to Buy a Used Honda Outboard

randall_b

"Guy's any advice on what

"Guy's any advice on what to look for on a used Honda 7.5 Hp 4 Stroke Outboard. I am meeting a guy this evening to possibly buy. How do I tell what Model year it is? He is "Guessing 80's to early 90's? I would like to be able to tell. It looks like the blue motor with the white top I see on the honda site as a BF75. I have never owned a four stroke before so any advice appreciate.
Thanks,
Randall"

"I have that same motor, it ra

"I have that same motor, it ran great for a year and a half but I have been experienceing problems this last year. One thing I do know is that you have to keep the fuel clean, I dump mine monthly to ensure there is no water or build up. Other than that I am not an expert. They burn very little fuel and it use to start on the first pull."

"I bought the motor. it sounds

"I bought the motor. it sounds great and started on the first pull, the model number on the frame is BF75S-1702539. If any one knows what year this would be and what i need to do to maintain it would be appreciated."

"I looked and could not find t

"I looked and could not find the number. I just had cataract surgery so my vision is not as clear close up as it should be. Where on the Carb would the number be located? Also, my 72 year old father will be using this motor and has a detached bicep. Would it be possible to convert this motor to electric start?"

"Call Honda (770-497-6400&

"Call Honda (770-497-6400) and give them the model number. They will tell you model year and anything else you want to know about it. You can then download the owners manual from their website (www.honda-marine.com)."

"Hi,I have a bf100 outboard an