Logo

1969 55hp Evinrude cutting out

scott

Contributing Member
" In search of some informatio

" In search of some information I found this bulletin board and there seems to be a few experts here... so I thought I might try to save myself some time and pose a question.

I am working on an outboard that belongs to my bank manager (gotta try to keep her happy!). Model 55973A, Serial C51800, I believe this is a 1969 55HP Evinrude. It will start and run for about 15 seconds then run poorly and quit. When it is restarted it will run for 10 seconds then quit, then 5 seconds and quit, and so on until it just won't start.

I have no prior experience on this engine or any early model Evinrude. But, after going through the carbs and checking the compression, it seems to be an electrical problem, but only after it warms up just a bit. Could this be problem with the electronic ignition module or with the trigger coils, or otherwise? As well, worth noting is that it does not charge the battery any more (no stator output), although this problem has been tolerated.

This engine is to be fixed in the cheapest way possible. Any suggestions/prior experience is appreciated!

Thanks,
Scott "

Pull the flywheel and set the

Pull the flywheel and set the points at 0.010". Clean the rotor and distributor cap. Replace the anti-reversing spring.

" But this motor has electroni

" But this motor has electronic ignition... So there will be no points, right? Am I wrong?

Scott "

Scott...this motor does have

Scott...this motor does have electronic ignition but also has points. Also known as breaker point CDI. I would get under that flywheel first check/clean/gap the points clean dizzy cap & rotor and if that doesnt help go to the coil and then amplifier (electronic module)

" Ok, This is now unfamiliar t