Logo

OMG! Why wont this 71 25hp fire up???? Help

Indicafilms

I am so frustrated that I joined this website to ask for help. I’ve been turning wrenches for over 40 years so it’s not like I don’t know what I’m doing but this motor has me baffled.

I got this 1971 Johnson 25 horse tiller pole start that looks to be just freshwater use. First thing I did is check compression with two gauges and I’ve got 120 pounds on each hole. I moved onto spark and I didn’t have any. I started replacing things individually getting spark losing spark getting spark blah blah blah eventually to the point now that the entire magneto I’m talking coils points condensers and wires back to the spark plugs are brand spanking new.

I’ve been spinning the fly wheel with a drill and now I have nice strong spark on both plugs.

I then moved into the carburetor which was pretty darn clean to begin with. I cleaned everything with guitar strings and although I’m not 100% sure it’s a great carburetor I’m just trying to get this damn thing to fire up one time.

so here is the thing that baffles me. I have very good compression a very good spark and I’ve tried everything with the carburetor but I don’t even get the slightest ignition I’m just talking about a one second explosion in the cylinders nothing. I’ve tried pouring pre-mix down the carburetor throat as well as starter fluid (yea i know please spare me). I have even been pouring things into the cylinders themselves putting the spark plugs back and spinning it. No matter what I do not even get a single fire explosion nothing.

so I’m 100% certain that I have plenty of compression. I am 100% certain that it’s not a carburetor issue because I’ve tried everything and the plugs even come out wet sometimes so gas is coming into the cylinders. I had a lot of trouble with the spark but these babies are sparking up I can’t imagine spark being an issue.