Logo

07 BF50 throttles up fine in neutral but not in gear

TooTall92

I'm rather new to boats so yall might have to dumb down some things haha

Bought a 2007 Smoker Craft with a Honda BF50 that unfortunately has been sitting for the last 3yrs due to previous owners health. I've replaced the water impeller, fuel filter and thermostat so far. Finally got it fired up and cooling right in a tub but when I went to do a test run on the lake, it maxed out at 1100rpm in gear. When in neutral it will run great up to 3000rpm (haven't tried any higher than that yet) for a few solid minutes. The primer bulb isn't really hard but it don't collapse either.

I've looked through the other posts trying to find clues to look at but no luck so was hoping someone might have delt with it before and able to give me a few leads.

IMHO, you got off on the right foot by replacing the impeller, fuel filter and thermostat. Next step in my shop would be to go through the carbs.

It's not hard work, but you have to be thorough. These 07 motors add to the challenge with a lot of vacuum/vent hoses that absolutely must be reinstalled as you found them. Not my favorite setup for this reason (I refer to them as a plumbers nightmare), though they do work nice when they're right. You may find pictures taken prior to disassembly a valuable reference later. Of particular interest is the vent line exiting the top of each carb. It MUST be angled up!

I generally will unbolt the intake manifold and pull that entire assembly off as one piece (manifold with carbs still attached). Remove the muffler/intake silencer and the part that holds it place. At that point, you can remove one carb at a time for cleaning, then put it back in place and reconnect it to all the lines before going to the next one. This will help assure no confusion regarding what line went where, or how it was routed.....