Logo

5.7 mercruiser with water in cylinders

jbeikmann

I am new to boats! Pretty much know nothing about them. Good idea to buy one right?!?!
I went to start my boat last week for the first time of the season. After winterizing it, I reconnected all my hoses, put my muffs on and started it up.
After it ran for a few minutes i turned the boat off, all seemed good.
Decided i would like to check charging voltage just to be safe. Turned my muffs on, and it took me about 2 minutes to actually get in the boat and start it.
Once i turned the key, the engine would not crank. Like it was locked up.
I turned the water off, engine started fine, ran good, turned the water back on and once again all seemed good.
But now i went to start it again and it seemed the engine is full of water, even getting into the oil.
I pulled the plugs on it and it seems to have water in a few of the cylinders, Ones with open exhaust ports is my guess?
My main question is what would cause water to get into the engine just being on muffs??
Haven't even had it in the water yet.

Thanks for anyone willing to help!!
Jason

Pulled all the plugs on the block, dug out the plugs with a pick because they seemed to have some gunk in the drain holes of the plugs. Pulled the plugs off of the exhaust manifolds, pulled hoses, and poured antifreeze in the block until pink fluid came out of the plugs. Thanks for the reply by the way!

You bought it from a private seller.-----Did previous owner winterize it properly ?------Best look it over carefully an inspect for cracked heads / manifold and block.

Bought it privately. Previous owner had new Jasper engine installed the previous year to me buying the boat. Have all the paperwork for it. So I'm assuming I must not have done something quite right winterizing it.