Logo

1year 2 ruined engines. Any answers?

Mose88

I’m on engine number 2 (5.7) both ruined within a year of each other, both had water in oil. On the first engine oil was extremely milky, on the second engine I had closed cooling system installed and oil look perfect except on tip of dip stick and then when draining oil looked perfect except the last quart or so was really milky.I’m leaning on the idea of mechanic error. After last motor installed when starting engine he could never get it to a consistent idol. Would vary between 1000-1200rpm. Any idea how 2 factory rebuilt engines get water in engine?. Everything minus exhaust elbows and risers. Barely starting to realize it could be exhausts?

Now I pulled motor and want to rebuild but I’m new to rebuilds and not sure if I should get a new short block or just take to mechanic or take engine apart and sent to a machine shop? assuming probably best first step is start taking engine apart.

Thanks in advance for any advice

I’m on engine number 2 (5.7) both ruined within a year of each other, both had water in oil. On the first engine oil was extremely milky, on the second engine I had closed cooling system installed and oil look perfect except on tip of dip stick and then when draining oil looked perfect except the last quart or so was really milky.I’m leaning on the idea of mechanic error. After last motor installed when starting engine he could never get it to a consistent idol. Would vary between 1000-1200rpm. Any idea how 2 factory rebuilt engines get water in engine?. Everything minus exhaust elbows and risers. Barely starting to realize it could be exhausts?

Now I pulled motor and want to rebuild but I’m new to rebuilds and not sure if I should get a new short block or just take to mechanic or take engine apart and sent to a machine shop? assuming probably best first step is start taking engine apart.

Thanks in advance for any advice