Logo

Evinrude 1972 25201r throttle linkage adjustment

Rjybilcom

I bought this motor a few weeks ago. I think it had been in this man's barn for a few years, but once I got a fuel tank hooked up and a good battery, I have it cranked and running. I think maybe the throttle linkage is out of adjustment, when I twist the tiller handle it doesn't seem to be WOT. So, I'm not a boat mechanic but...I see where there are two marks on the flywheel and how the cam roller starts to move when the tiller handle is twisted all the way to fast. That roller is nowhere near the two marks. I would appreciate any advice so I can get this adjusted properly.

It has to be in gear to go full throttle.------If it has no power it is likely running on one cylinder.-----Do not start adjusting linkages if you are unsure.

I went back and shifted it to forward and now when handle is twisted all the way fast the cam roller is at the second of the two marks. Is that where it should be at WOT?

The 2 vertical marks on the magneto plate have to do with timing of the magneto breaker points.------How does your motor run on a boat ?----Make no adjustments unless you are sure of what you are adjusting !

I went back and shifted it to forward and now when handle is twisted all the way fast the cam roller is at the second of the two marks. Is that where it should be at WOT?

NO. The two marks are where the carb throttle butterfly should just barely start to open when the roller is aligned with them. At WOT, the two marks should have moved way, way past the roller

Good luck with your project.----But motor must be in gear to go full throttle.----The nylon pin at the bottom of the vertical shaft ( port side ) broken or missing ?

Let's all get on the same page here. I don't think we are all talking about the same two marks. I read it to say the two marks on the cam. Others are thinking two marks on the armature plate, others thinking the two marks on the flywheel. ​So, which two marks???