Logo

4.2L D-Tronic-250 on Monterey 262 CR Year 2002

buddy13

I recently sold my 20 foot cuddy cabin.

I am now looking at upgrading to a larger boat 24-27 feet with more space in the cabin and also the ability to cross the 60 mile distance from Malta (Where I live) to Sicily and spend 3-4 nights on it in relative comfort :).

Yesterday I went off to see a Monterey 262 CR, fitted with a 4.2L Mercruiser D-Tronic-250, which I believe is just a rebadged VM Motori Engine both 2002 YOM. It is coupled to a Bravo III Duoprop Sterndrive. I am quite taken with the boat, space on board, condition & general build quality.

I'm a Mechanical Engineer and quite handy with a spanner. I generally tend to do all maintenance and modifications myself, but must admit my experience is limited to outboards & car engines mostly. Can you tell me if there are any known issues with this boat/engine/drive combination. I like trolling at 3-4 knots, but I have read that this particular engine & perhaps larger Turbo Diesels in general do not like to be worked at light loads for longer periods of time (say 4 hours) because of engine glazing. How do you go about this? Does it mean that trolling would become impossible?

Will I be making a huge step in the wrong direction by going from my 4 stroke Yamaha outboard to this? Here where I live, outboard powered cruisers larger than 24 feet are quite modern (say 2012 and newer).But if so, I would not mind waiting for a slightly more expensive/smaller boat with a 200-250hp Outboard.

Working on my boat is a hobby, but I do not want it to become too much of a chore. My time is limited after all.

Thanks for any advice in advance!