Logo

1977 140hp Evinrude trouble

OK, be patient, I'm new at this. So, I bought a beautiful 1978 Stinger Bass boat about 10 years ago. Other than replacing the fuel pump, it has never given me any trouble. Last fall, I was leaving one spot on the lake and going to another one, so, I opened the throttle all the way just to clean her out a bit. After about a 1/4 mile, it just shut off, just like you had turned the switch off. It started right back but would not take fuel enough to get the boat going more than just a idle speed. If you tried to push the throttle, it would choke and puke then shut off again. My brother worked the controls while I manually worked the carb, after a few tries, I got the boat back up and going, even back up a plane. So, that's where the problem started. Here's everything that has been done to the motor and now, it's worse than when it started. Just so you know, runs perfect on muffs but as soon as you drop it in the water, it idles but rough but will not take fuel, just shuts off but starts back. Now, if I even touch the carb throttle manually, it shuts off, no spitter or sputter, just shuts off. Here's the long list that has been done to the boat. 3 different mechanics and the last one, well, he just said to come and get it, he can't figure it out and he spent a lot of time on the motor and took it to the lake 5 times but can't figure out why it's shutting off. New fuel pump, all lines replaced, fuel tank checked with nothing wrong, new plugs, carbs have been cleaned and checked by 2 certified mechanics, nothing wrong with them, new power pak, new timing plate, new stator, replaced fuel pump with electric fuel pump, new recitifier, new crankshaft seal, timing rechecked and adjusted, all linkages checked and adjusted. After getting the boat back, I removed the lower unit just to check to make sure the exhaust wasn't clogged or any obstructions. That was the lower part only, nothing in the upper part was checked. I am a ASE certified mechan