Logo

New to Westerbeke, need help with a m4 determiining TDC for valve adjustment

wobbleman

I'm a pretty good mechanic with a moderate amount of diesel experience, but marine diesel engines are completely new to me.

So when my friend asked me I said "Valve Adjusttment , no problem, I can do that"

Right

Im having trouble determining tdc for valve adjustment. It's an M4

I managed to find one timing mark on the flywheel which appears (from what I can see in the incredibly cramped position I have to squeeze into to see anything at all) to read 1*4 TC and some other marks nearby. Which seems to work TDC for cylinder #1 and #4. But How to determine for #2 and #3.

Is there another mark for #2 and #3? Or am I missing something obvious?

Of course, If I had done the valves before I re- installed the injectors I could have just looked. But I was afraid of debris falling in.

Big Dope Slap!

Any help much appreciated- he want to go sailing tommorow.

There should be "TC" marks and "FI" marks for each cylinder pairing (1 & 4 then 2 & 3).

the manuals are usually easy to find on the www...and they are factory products...

Thanks very much for your reply. I do have a copy of the manual and parts book. But I couldn't seem to find the 3 and 4 TDC marks, so got it "close enough" (I hope) by

feeling for the compression through the glow plug holes. But now I have another problem.

We took her out-( which was BTW the most fun I've had in quite a while- I may just get hooked on this sailing thing!).

We motored for a little while ,going out the channel , sailed by Coney Island and ran the motor coming in the channel again.

When I went to take final check of the engine there was a bit of a leak- a slow drip, coming from the top of the injection pump. Not , apparently from the F line

fitting but from the male fitting that threads into the top of the injection pump. I disassmbled the lines , re-tightened everything as much as