Logo

Engine noise with key in accessory position

ignisuti

I have a 1995 Rinker Floatilla with 4.3L Mercruiser engine. It's relatively new to me. So, I'm still learning what is and isn't normal.

I noticed that when I turn the key to the on position there is a buzzing (electric motor noise) coming from the engine bay. Other posts indicate this is likely a fuel pump, but they say it should turn off after 3 seconds. Mine does not. I just stays on. Can someone please confirm if this is or isn't normal operation?

Other posts indicate this is likely a fuel pump, but they say it should turn off after 3 seconds. Mine does not. I just stays on.

The fuel pump cycles only with fuel injection TBI or MPI . If you have a carb you have an electric fuel pump incorrectly wired or a bad pressure switch

If you have a carb you have an electric fuel pump incorrectly wired or a bad pressure switch

I have a carb. How bad is it to run the boat like this?

I have plans to be on the water all weekend starting tonight and unlikely I'll have the option to fix it before then.

you need to verify it is the fuel pump running when the key is ON.

Its a safety issue as the oil pressure switch should turn the pump OFF if the engine looses oil pressure...

Wonder if previous owner hooked up accessory terminal to prime fuel system?
Best to see what wire is attached to accessory terminal and trace it back to connection, where ever that may be, possibly at oil pressure switch.

there is a wire connector on the left top front of the engine just left of the thermostat housing if you re looking at it from the front. it goes to the fuel pump, unplug the onnector and see if the noise stops, if so, then s the others wrote, you need to check the wiring to see why it is running constant.

Thanks to everyone who is helping with suggestions. I delayed my weekend plans to try and figure this out, but still no luck.