Logo

Transmission removal & swap

Thanks for any input in advance!
I'm new to Crusader Engines, making the jump from Ford to Chevy and need some advice.

I want to use my original 1:1 Velvet drive but need to drop the 1.52:1. The drive is a six bolt pattern but it appears the middle bolts are covered by the tranny mounts, Should I remove the mounts or is there a trick to get at those bolts? Has anyone seen videos of this removal? Anyone have schematics for a 1986 Crusader 270 that shows the removal process?

Thanks
Pete

Not exactly clear on what you have or are trying so here's my best shot.

Sounds like you want to swap in a used crusader 270 but you want to remove the existing 1.5:1 reduction gear and use a different 1:1 gear. the gears are held to the flywheel cover using studs and nuts vs bolts....so you can keep the mounts bolted to the gears.

without knowing any of the details, I'd suggest replacing the damper plate while things are apart.

Not exactly clear on what you have or are trying so here's my best shot.

Sounds like you want to swap in a used crusader 270 but you want to remove the existing 1.5:1 reduction gear and use a different 1:1 gear. the gears are held to the flywheel cover using studs and nuts vs bolts....so you can keep the mounts bolted to the gears.

without knowing any of the details, I'd suggest replacing the damper plate while things are apart.

Yes, I'm installing a running takeout Crusader and plan to use my original 1:1 gear. I've got the rear of the engine jacked up and cribbed so I can support the block when I pull the 1.5:1 off. I was just perplexed because it appeared 2 of the studs, what I called bolts, were inaccessible because the mounts are in the way. Now that it's blocked up I think I can see better what's going on.

And yes, I definitely will be replacing the damper plate while it's apart.

Thanks!

You should be alright then...