Logo

Lower Unit Bearing Replacement

I was able to remove the old/ broken bearing housing from the lower unit. But how do I get new one to fit in casing? I have 1962 28 HP Evinrude with a split case lower unit. Thank you for your help. I’m not a mechanic but like to do my own repairs to save money. I’m guessing I need a press but I don’t have one.

Heat the gearcase in the bearing area and it will tap/slide in pretty easy (heat the gearcase, not the bearing)

So you got the old one out ?-----Bearing sizes are very standard.----If it has the same number it will be the same size !

Well any pictures of the broken bearing ?------Sometimes when a bearing spins in a housing it damages the housing.----Then a new bearing may not push in easily.----Inspect the housing bore !

You can also check size difference and get parts to fit with a little hand grinding/fitting. If your unsure of the perfect fit, you can use a little JB weld when you press it into place. Done alot of these....common problem. How is the shaft?

The shaft is good, i was doing a gear replacement and the bearing casing ring cracked and all the rollers fell out. I found the exact same part number but its a different design. Im trying to figure out how to upload photos.

Perhaps we don't know what bearing you are talking about. I'm thinking it is a Timken Tapered roller bearing and you are trying to replace the outer race. Some gearcases use an entirely different setup.

Timken bearings normally have the number stamped on them.

Well it sounds to me that you are working on a motor that does not have the original lower unit.------Only with posting some pictures can we help you.----Perhaps compare your lower unit with parts shown for say a 1970 model 33 HP lower unit.-----That 1970 lower unit would fit on your 62 model 28 HP.------Simple if you brought it over for a look.

Last edited: