Logo

Where is the rectifier/regulator - Evinrude V4 115

rebelgent

Hello you all, I am a newbie here and i am wondering if you can help me to fix my issue. I have Evinrude V4 115 Hp on my boat and i am having battery charging issue. I read 12.4V at all speeds on the battery. According what i have known, charging should be about 13-13.5V Something is wrong and i have a feeling that it would be the regulator/rectifier. But i can't find where the rectifier/regulator is? do i look on a wrong place? i don't know Could you please help me to find? so i can make a test and proceed for it replacement here is a photo evinrude_1.jpg Thanks

Been down that road before with my Johnson 90 hp V4.
In the very first pic you posted, there is a terminal strip with a bunch of screws and wires attached.
Follow the yellow/red/grey wires that go off to the right and into a cable sheath.
Follow that cable and it will lead you right to the regulator/rectifier assembly.
As Racerone said, it is right on top of the engine block at the back, just under the flywheel.
Flywheel and stator need to be removed to get at it.
Not too terrible of a job to do - just takes a bit of time because you have to be careful with things.

Thanks for the explanation.
I don't see it as it is located under the flywheel. ok.

I have watched some videos about how to remove the flywheel.
i understand that i have to buy a specific puller to this stuff.
Do you have any advice?

If you look at the second picture in post #3, you can see that cable I was talking about just behind the flywheel. It pretty much ends near where the cable clamp is. That rectangular shaped block that is bolted down with a few bolts.