Logo

‘97 Johnson 70 Idle issues

C.hillsailing

Hi all, so I’m new to the whole powerboat thing. Working my way through trying to make this (New to me) 70hp more bulletproof. This engine is converted to premix, with a new fuel pump, rebuilt carbs with new gaskets, needles, floats, etc. , but I’m still having trouble getting it to idle without the throttle cracked open. Tested the compression and came out with 75psi on all three cylinders (cold). Pulled the head off and think it might be a bad head gasket? Take a look at the photos, any input is greatly appreciated! Hoping she doesn’t need new pistons/rings....

Click Here for Photos - couldn't get the uploader to work

Last edited:
You should make sure that your compression gauge is working correctly.
Mine is 30+ years old, and last time I was using it, a tiny hole developed in the hose. Didn't know it at the time.
I then had a good reading on one cylinder, and a low reading on the next.
That one threw me for a tizzy until I figured out what was going on.
Guess it's kind of late for that now.
If it were me I think I'd Seafoam the piston rings and let it sit for an hour or two, and then Seafoam them again.
Might be just carbon build-up on the rings?
When it comes to outboards I'm still green, but getting better at it.
Anyway, good luck with it and let us know what you find out.

You should make sure that your compression gauge is working correctly.
Mine is 30+ years old, and last time I was using it, a tiny hole developed in the hose. Didn't know it at the time.
I then had a good reading on one cylinder, and a low reading on the next.
That one threw me for a tizzy until I figured out what was going on.
Guess it's kind of late for that now.
If it were me I think I'd Seafoam the piston rings and let it sit for an hour or two, and then Seafoam them again.
Might be just carbon build-up on the rings?
When it comes to outboards I'm still green, but getting better at it.