Logo

(NEED HELP) Removing 1997 Mercury 90hp 2stroke VRO pump and bypassing.

Harryyabs

I’m new to this so apologies in advance.

Went to fill up my oil reservoir today to find that fuel had leaked back into oil tank, stinks of fuel. I’ve been told to just bypass VRO system as oil is also leaking.

I’m not an idiot but I’m also not mechanically experienced, I’ve been told that I just need to drain and remove oil reservoir tank and remove oil pump drive shaft and put the pump back on.

is this really all I need to do? Do I not need to cap/remove/loop any pipes from the pump to fuel pump? Do I not need put something where the oil pump drive shaft was originally?

I am at the hands of your knowledge, please help me.

all the best,

h

I would fix the problem and leave the oil injection system alone. I'm trying to understand how gasoline is getting into your oil tank. Its usually the opposite that oil leaks back into your fuel system because of a bad 2 psi checkvalve in the oiling line running to the fuel pump.

I would fix the problem and leave the oil injection system alone. I'm trying to understand how gasoline is getting into your oil tank. Its usually the opposite that oil leaks back into your fuel system because of a bad 2 psi checkvalve in the oiling line running to the fuel pump.

I have been instructed that the fuel pump may need looking at as it could be the one way valve is broken allowing fuel back through.

do you not think I should just scrap the VRO system all together and just premix? How hard is it to do? Cheers mate.