Logo

1969 Johnson 9.5 - Lacking Power

GregoryB

Hello - I purchased a 14ft aluminum boat on Monday with a 1969 Johnson 9.5
I'm new to boating; launched a boat for the first time today and learning a lot as I go. I know a good deal about older cars / motors and am mechanically inclined. The PO had the boat for 2 years and said the motor was serviced when he bought it and it wasn't in the water last year. I put in fresh gas and tested it out today. The motor seemed to run smooth, no surging, I had it WOT for quite a while, periods of 10 - 15 minutes and it held steady, just really slow, I'd guess 6mph, just a little faster than my trolling motor. I thought maybe that was it, but after watching videos on Youtube, guys get this thing hauling. I played with the R/L adjustment knob, and it ran best with the screw all the way in, full lean. When idling, the RPM would pick up all the way until the screw bottomed out and it seemed to run best this way at WOT as well. I cruised around for 2 hours and went through about a gallon and half of gas.

I did a compression test tonight, both cylinders are right at 60 after 4 pulls, I'm in Colorado over a mile up and from what I've read about the 9.5's, this is fine.
Both plugs are getting a spark
Spark plugs are J4J and gap was right on at .030
When I pull each boot while motor running, it sputters greatly then picks back up with the boot back on
Prop seems to be original

I plan to get a tach and check out the RPM, should ideally be at 4500 WOT from what I've read.
I need to get a puller for the flywheel, I'll take that off and check the points gap.
While I'm doing those, what other advice do you guys have to unlock this great beast?
Thanks