Logo

Help with aq125b. 87 bayliner capri

Josh5806

Hello I am new to boats and need a little guidance. I have recently picked up an 87 bayliner capri with the aq125b. It has a couple issues that i know of and could use some help. First is that the carb was just rebuilt but it will not start and run on it's own without feeding gas manually into carb. I noticed that it is not pumping gas from the bowl but it is full. The 2nd issue is that it drips from an expansion plug on the underside of the exhaust manifold when I have it running. The plug is not a concern and should be an easy fix. My concern is that it drips antifreeze and was wondering if it should have antifreeze in there as I thought only freshwater passed through it and out the back. If it is not suppose to have antifreeze in it, what could cause it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

........... First is that the carb was just rebuilt but it will not start and run on it's own without feeding gas manually into carb. I noticed that it is not pumping gas from the bowl but it is full.
Check and see if the fuel pump is working properly.
If so, and if the pressure is within the correct range, check to make sure that the carburetor's needle/seat is not stuck closed.

The 2nd issue is that it drips from an expansion plug on the underside of the exhaust manifold when I have it running. The plug is not a concern and should be an easy fix. My concern is that it drips antifreeze and was wondering if it should have antifreeze in there as I thought only freshwater passed through it and out the back. If it is not suppose to have antifreeze in it, what could cause it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

On these little OHC 4 bangers, only the engine will see Ethylene Glycol from the Closed Cooling System.
The exhaust manifold should see seawater ONLY.

Is it possible that the previous owner winterized this engine by pumping AF through the cooling system the last time it was laid up?