Logo

New to me Honda 9.9 having issues

jlwardn

I just bought a fishing boat and it came with a nice Honda 9.9. I believe it is a 90's version based on BF9.9A and BABS in serial number.
I first ran it on muff and motor started on 2 pull and ran nicely. I noticed water was not coming out of the pee tube. I immediately shut if off. I thought it was because I was running it on muffs. I then got a large new garbage basket and filled it with water. Still no water coming out hose. Since I am an excellent google diagnose mechanic I kept seeing that I needed to look at the water pump/impeller. I watched a video that told me to check the intake screens for rubber debris. I did have debris. Problem solved.....Well after taking off the lower unit and inspecting the impeller I noticed that it was 100% intact and looked perfect. Not new but near new. It seemed everything was as it should be. Impeller was installed correctly with veins curved the right direction. I put it all back together and thought I must not had enough water in container. I bought a 55 gallon barrel and put a drain on it. For certain I had enough water this time.....still nothing out the pee tube. Back to google and this forum. I blew out the tube with compressed air and knew it was not blocked since lots of air/bubbles came out of the water in the barrel. Started motor again.....still no water.
Now What? Spring is coming and after spending the winter cleaning and improving the boat, I need a flawless working motor.

Just a few thoughts and pointers:

1.) If running on muffs, you need to have the grate on just above the propeller tapped off.
2.) If running on a tank, the entire lower unit needs to be under water (above the cavitation plate). (I assume you did this).