Logo

35 hp motor no spark

Fishman479

Hey all,
I use to work a lot of these older motors but I was always under 25 hp. This is my first time with this many wires. Is there a power needed to make this work or how would you start tracking down the lack of spark? Model number from the freeze plug is E35RCRR. Any and all help is appreciated. note yes i realize the plug wires are disconnected from the plugs thats because i was testing for spark which there is none.

That motor is the same as the 20/25/28/30 blocks. How are you testing spark? Try disconnecting the black/yellow wire from the switch box.

That motor is the same as the 20/25/28/30 blocks. How are you testing spark? Try disconnecting the black/yellow wire from the switch box.

Checked 3 ways first out a timing light on and it wouldn't light second took out spark plugs held on a good ground point and watched no spark last stuck a screw driver in the plug boot and held close to a ground and no spark.

What are you calling the switch box?

Same as the power pack. Merc calls 'em a switch box.....I call 'em "trouble". When did you loose spark?

The powerpack ( AKA switchbox )-----Is the wee black item that says CD2 on it.----And 12 volts is not needed to make this motor run.

The powerpack ( AKA switchbox )-----Is the wee black item that says CD2 on it.----And 12 volts is not needed to make this motor run.

Thanks. This is the first motor I have dealt with that had that all my previous dealings the coils and everything were under the flywheel.