Logo

Mercury 500 Thunderbolt Help

BennesV

Hi, I'm relatively new to boating just bought an old runabout with a Mercury 500 Thunderbolt, was running beautifully on muffs until hitting the water, have Mercontrol and idle up was on for about 10 minutes pulled down all the way idles ok, noticed when shifting into forward the idle up lever came up about a quarter of the way with it, didn't take much notice just pushed it back again, when shifting further down to accelerate the engine stalls, starts up straight away but keepa doing that when accelerating. Pulled it out came home had a look around and found what looks like a vacuum or vent hose just sitting there, its located close to the water outlet hole and not sure where it shouls connect to and could this have been causing my issue? See photo of similar hose. Had a service with timing ans carbs etc done not long ago. Thanks any help would be appreciated. IMG_20200129_234234.jpg

Everything in the picture is black.----Therfor hard to see what is going on there.---How big is this loose hose ?----I believe there is an oil return hose from bottom bearing to upper bearing.--------Take it back to the shop that did the service work.

Last edited:
That might be the oil suck out hose. Older Mercs had them just dump the oil into the water--shame! Newer ones have one cylinder suck out the excess oil from another.

Look for a small barbed fitting hiding in there.

Jeff

That looks like the tell tale hose, it goes from a fitting in the back of the block between the spark plugs or on the top of the block, to the tell tale outlet in the lower cowl (Nrs. 11-15 in diagram) If this hose isn't connected water is possibly flooding the plugs and causing your problems.
850-lowercowl.jpg