Logo

New to the Crusader. Looking for advice.

bakerjw

New to the site and new to Crusaders. Quick backstory. I am looking for a solid boat where I can get all of the major systems upgraded to the point where I have something that is reliable. This is not an investment as I plan to retire with the boat in another 10 years or so. As a test engineer I know to do research and pay attention to details. I've been doing mechanic work for decades and engines are just something where you need to pay attention to details and not skimp on materials. The benefit of expertise and experience of others is critical.

Below is a picture of my last rebuild which required 12 new cylinder liners and a myriad of other silly things that the Brits did with engine designs. 5.3L V12. It was a fun project.

My reason for stopping by. I've found a 1984 30'+ class boat for sale that comes with a pair of Crusader engines. The boat is in decent shape; however, the engines are in unknown condition and considered "Not running". With that in mind, the boat is aggressively priced. For the layout of the boat, it is exactly what I'm looking for. Already being out of the water is an added bonus to some degree as the prop shafts and struts can be addressed if I were to undertake this as a project.

So, it has 1984 (I am assuming) Crusader engines in it. The condition is completely unknown.
My immediate thought is that if I pull the trigger on this boat, I will have 2 engines that will be rebuilt. For my goals, that is a requirement. The rest of the driveline will also be reworked completely.
Marine rebuild kits for this engine are not out of line pricewise with what I would expect. Not quite like a Chevy 350, but marine is more demanding.

A few questions.
Are the cranks in these engines hardened? The Jag engine was hardened and was withing a few tenths of original spec.
How much can these blocks be bored from stock. Not to gain displacement, just in case there was damage to cylinders.