Logo

BF135 Overheating Alarm and Control Panel Question

jnorton70

HelloAll. I am new to outboards and could usea little help. Apologies in advance fora long post.

Ihave twin outboard BF135s that have about 1700 digits in the serial number separatingthe two that happens to fall between a control panel part change. The engine in question (SN BARJ13011946) currentlyhas the incorrect control panel (part# 32340-ZW5-506(2LED)) versus the control panel it should have (part# 06323-ZZ5-764 (4LED)). The previous owner battled an overheatingissue while he owned it as well. He put4 new temp sensor, new thermostats, and a new water pump. I can’t remember if he changed the reliefvalve or not but from my inspection of it appeared to be relatively new. He also did a flush of the system with achemical designed to clean cooling systems.

Questions: 1. Does having the incorrect control panelmatter? Ie. Can this causefalse high temp alarms? It appears toonly be lights that receive their signal from the ECU, however, I cannotconfirm this from the service manual. 2. Does the control panel send a signal back tothe ECU that would cause this high temp alarm and for the engine to go intolimp mode?

3. The control panel appears to be optionalequipment; can I disconnect the control panel lamp assembly to sea trial the boatin order to verify this is the fault creating these symptoms?

Thisis the symptoms and troubleshooting I have done so far.