Logo

1973 Johnson 135hp Ignition / Tachometer Issues

Hi:

I am new to boats and outboard motors. I remember boating and skiing with my dad back in the day and I always thought boats were super cool. I don't know why it took me so long to get one of my own and go with my kids. In my mind they stopped making awesome boats in the 90's (not long after they stopped making good country music), so I really want to make this old boat run right. Late in the summer I picked up an sweet little 15.5' ski boat from the same vintage as the '73 Johnson 135hp which I purchased separately and installed on the boat.

I figure (and others whom I talk to as well) this boat should seriously rip. With a 19p prop, it gets out of the hole so-so okay and tops out at a gps'd 42 mph. I would guess that's the top speed for that prop. However, only with careful weight shifting can I barely get on plane with a 21p prop, then I can't get to any good RPM and it tops out at around 35mph. I should say I'm at 4000', but I figure the beauty glitter paint this boats' got should cancel that out as far as performance goes. Determining the RPMs has been difficult. See below.

What I know:

1.) Compression is 110psi on 3 cylinders, 103 or so on one of the cylinders. The side with the lower compression does seem to run a bit hotter, but not too hot: 59deg C if I remember right, 50degC on the 'good' side. I took the head off the side of concern and observed a small bit of damage on the head of the piston. Kinda looked like something solid went through the engine.

2.) I think the engine mounting is good. 1 hole up. This put the cavitation plate level with the bottom of the boat.