Logo

Johnson Outboard vro 1987 omc V4

badcrank 777

Contributing Member
Hello everyone,

I am new here, so bear with me. I just purchased this boat with a Johnson 1987 110TLCUR outboard on it. It was in storage for three years. I'm a auto mechanic but not a outboard mechanic per-say. I drain the gas tank, refilled with new Alcohol free, rebuilt the VRO fuel pump, cleaned and rebuilt the carbs, installed all new hoses, new spark plugs, drained and refilled the lower unit. The primer valve is A-ok. It will start and run for 10 seconds then quit. Found the pressure at the pulse port to low to operate the motor valve in the VRO. So I assumed the leaf valves must be leaking. But upon removing the carbs to remove the intake manifold I noticed a broken recirculation hose that I had previously overlooked.

My question is: Could a open recirculation port drop the pressure to the pulse port enough to cause this low pressure issue to the VRO, because I looked in with a flashlight at the leaf valves and they look very clean and shiny. And did not want to go further if I don't have to. Also is there anywhere one can download a routing diagram of the circulation hose routing for this engine?

I thank very much to all that would respond to this inquiry.

Sincerely,

Badcrank 777

As you would suspect, the pressure needed to operate the VRO is supplied by the downward motion of a piston. A blown piston would cause a malfunction of the VRO due to low pressure as well as a broken leaf valve.

Check the compression. What are the psi readings of all numbered cylinders? Standing in back of the engine, facing the spark plugs, the cylinders are numbered as follows:

If a leaf valve was broken... each down stroke of the piston would result in air being blown out the carburetor throat.