Logo

350 MAG not revving past 3200 rpm, not planing

bortSanders

serial: 2A191167
2014 SeaRay Sundancer 260
600 hours

Won't rev past about 3200 rpms. No alarms or any indication of problems on the gauges.

I caught up on past due maintenance in an attempt to fix the problem: correct plugs NGK 5599, OEM Cap Rotor Wires, Water separating Fuel filter
Batteries are new, clean tight connections
no change in performance since completing this work.
I did find a small chafed leak in the vacuum hose from the fuel pressure regulator (elec taped for now), but I figure that should be a low rpm prob not a high rpm prob.
prop was bent and has since been replaced, no change
any help is appreciated!

Yes! Tons. It lives in Lake Michigan- Chicago north end of Belmont Harbor and its a cesspool. Long story short-its a logistical hurdle to get the boat out, but I can do it.

do i just need a power washer (gas or electric) and a boat trailer?

(like I said im new to boats, so thank you)

Well, I have no experience with bottom growth on lake/fresh water boats.... But here in NJ it is the first thing I look at when I hear this performance complaint especially late in the season.

A gas power washer and a trailer will give you access to remove almost all of the growth.

You'd be surprised how badly marine growth can strangle a boat's performance. I was so pissed at the way my 32 footer was dragging its butt that I cleaned the entire bottom with a 1 1/2 inch wide paint scrapper! Took an hour (and I swallowed a gallon of creek water doing it) but she ran perfectly again.

Jeff

Here on the Jersey Shore, some of the competitive sailors hire divers to scrub their already bottom painted boat bottoms the day before they race ( usually once a week) . While bottom paint does a decent job of keeping barnacles off of boat bottoms, it does not do so well keeping "slime" from accumulating. Since these sailors are usually in the top three positions seasonally, there must be something to it.