Logo

1979 johnson

yrtem

Hi people

I am a newbie so be gentle. I purchased a 35horse Johnson. Model 35R79. I believe it to be a long shaft. There is a 35RL79 listed but not sure what the dif is. I need a short shaft to go with 15" transom. So I am looking for info on doing this. Not sure if can find used parts or if need to buy new. Don't want to spend more than I have to. I am a pretty savvy mechanic on car, atv, lawn stuff, but don't know much about outboards. I am waiting on fuel line and gas tank to see if she will start. Compression is 115 in one cyl, and the other is 118. She is kinda rough but guy said he ran it last year, but not to sure about that. I like to fix older stuff, and bring it back to life. However my budget is limited. I will take pics.etc when I get some help getting it on stand so can see whats up. Gear selector seems very lose. Any advise on where to start, and if this worth doing etc. would be greatly appreciated.

Measuring from the underside of the transom brackets (where they would it upon the transom) down to the anti cavitation plate (just about the propeller), an approximate measurement of 15" would indicate a short shaft... 20" for a long shaft.

A 35R79 might have been converted to long shaft with an extension kit, however a 35RL79, long shaft from the factory, should have a longer exhaust housing rather than an extension kit and would be a major operation to convert to short shaft. Bottom line, look for a 5" spacer above the lower unit gearcase, and if you see one, it can be converted to short shaft without too much grief. Big expense to do so would be a short drive shaft.