Logo

Rescue team in trouble with Honda BF50, pls help needed...

Chris:

Hi!
I'm new on this forum but I hope for some good people will/can help me/as to solve our problem.
The story:
I'm a member of a rescue team in my country/Serbia, we own a Honda BF50 (this is our only worth engine what we have) and yesterday we
had run in some trouble with it and need urgent some advice or help.

The engine is out of warranty, we contacted a Honda repair center here and the told they can not help cos they have no diagnostic tool.

I'm an electronic engineer and have many years of experience in vehicle electronics repairing/diagnostic etc.

Yesterday we was on a mission and the engine started to make beep beep beep... sound and the max rpm was reduced to 2500rpm.
I think the engine is gone to some LIMP mode.

Can somebody give some advice how to read out the DTC's from the ECU without a proper diag tool?
I mean, is there a way to short out some pins and count some blinking and beeping sound?

Or maybe is there any DIY schematics than I can build up in my lab for diagnostic purpose?
I own the complete equipment to make a PCB and the whole stuff...

Any help would be nice.
Many many thanks from
Rescue Team Tisa Senta.
Chris.

You should post your model number and serial number to know how to offer advice. You can also get a complete shop manual from Honda on line via eBay and maybe other vendors.
Don

I can't help with developing software but you can buy it from BRP DIAGNOSTICS. They have a reasonably priced, reverse engineered software suite for Dr.H.

If you want help figuring out your outboard going into power derate then you should provide more info as NSDON suggested.

Frame number or at least date of manufacture. Tiller or console steer? Any lights that came on or went off during the beeping and power loss? Did the engine stop running? If so, how long did it continue to run after power loss?...those sorts of things may point to what may have happened.