Logo

5.0 EFI No Start Guidance

mhcrra1

Hi All, first post. I know there are a million ways to go here but I'm looking for anyone to "point me in the right direction".
Have a 2000 Sea Ray Sundancer 290 with twin Mercruiser 5.0 EFIs in her (new to me this year). LONGGGGGGGG story but I pulled motors to change both oil pans/gaskets, fuel coolers, timing chain covers, plugs, fuel filters, etc. etc. Both motors ran beautifully after the service. Had it out for a couple of spins......last one yesterday about a 30-40 minute cruise at 30 knots all seemed great. Docked, went and had lunch.....came back to the boat, STBD motor fired up great, port cranked and cranked and cranked. Checked oil, that was ok.......checked everything basic we could while at the dock and found nothing.....kept trying it over and over and no fire. Limped back to port on one motor and called it a night.

I am a decent mechanic, but not overly versed in Mercruisers so looking for any ideas at all where to start.

It really sound like it's not getting spark.....almost like there is a safety cutoff somewhere that's activated. Everything appears to be in tact visually.....the only thing that's not connected is the gear oil monitor but that has had a broken terminal all summer and never given any fits.

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:) Rob

likely to be missing spark or fuel.....so get a pressure gauge or a spark tester and make the determination on what's missing.....

likely to be missing spark or fuel.....so get a pressure gauge or a spark tester and make the determination on what's missing.....

I have both and spark is obvious to test.....is there a built in schrader valve for the fuel pressure test already in the system??? Thank you for the tips.

I have both and spark is obvious to test.....is there a built in schrader valve for the fuel pressure test already in the system??? Thank you for the tips.