Logo

140 HP Chrysler Wont Rev Over 2k RPM

mdorn98

Hi All,

I just purchased a 1985 ebco with one of the 140 horse chrysler engines and for some reason it doesn't want to rev beyond 2000 RPM. It'll start up no issues whatsoever and idle at around a thousand RPM but full throttle only yields two thousand rpm (or a sad 12mph). Throttle cable looks to be recently replaced could this be the culprit? I can attach a picture of all the linkage as well if that would be helpful? Took it out today and had a blast just not very quick.

Thank you to everyone in advance I'm new to all this.

Thanks again, Mike

There should be a tag inside the bottom cover, post the model/serial#s
They made a few different models and different ignitions??
Do a compression and a spark test, post the results.
Try running with the cover off, sometimes the exhaust comes back up into the hood and chokes the motor.
Then as someone else drives, try pushing the linkage or throttle forward.
Or unhook the throttle cable link and try moving the throttle by hand.
Sometimes the linkage gets stuck and won't accelerate.
Get a factory manual.The aftermarket, Clymer, Seloc are fair just not as good as the OEM

One hint, the lower unit, has a slotted screw on the side, NEVER remove this or you'll be taking the drive
apart to fix it.
The oil drain is on the bottom.

There should be a tag inside the bottom cover, post the model/serial#s
They made a few different models and different ignitions??
Do a compression and a spark test, post the results.
Try running with the cover off, sometimes the exhaust comes back up into the hood and chokes the motor.
Then as someone else drives, try pushing the linkage or throttle forward.
Or unhook the throttle cable link and try moving the throttle by hand.
Sometimes the linkage gets stuck and won't accelerate.
Get a factory manual.The aftermarket, Clymer, Seloc are fair just not as good as the OEM