Logo

Honda BF8D loses power and stalls at full throttle

NHfisherman

Hey everyone,

Im having an issue with my 2003 Honda BF8D. I took it out today and within 200 yards of launching the boat I noticed the motor was not getting up to full speed and it felt like it was bogging out. It did stall when I let off on the throttle and then started right back up after. It idles no problem and seems to run fine with 1/2 throttle and lower. I've never had this issue before and it just came out of nowhere. It ran mint a few days ago so I'm pretty confused on what's going on.

The carb was cleaned and put new spark plugs in about 2 months ago and has been used regularly (2-3 times a week). I'm no pro at this stuff so any insight on what I should do would be much appreciated.

Try pumping the fuel bulb and see if that makes it work better.
If it does, it might be your fuel pump.
The vent is open on the gas tank right?

Probably overheating and going into limp mode.Try disconnecting the temp sensor and try just long enough to see if it runs okay.If it does a full cooling system service and clean would be advisable given the age of the motor