Logo

73 Chrysler 318 rebuild

Rhoda Mae

hello, Recently purchased a 73 Uniflite with twin 318's , both need work,
here is what I noticed so far,
both are soft seized and have gotten them to move
the Starboard engine appears to be fine, with the exception of the timing cover which is rusted on the left side and the metal is gone, so,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
the Port, has a milk shake in the oil,
paragon , transmissions,

my intentions are to remove both and rebuild, I am a retired technician and dont see a problem,
I have done a few SBC's but no Chryslers
any advice would be appreciated,
also which is the standard engine and which is the counter rotating,
thanks in advance,

Bill

Bill, if these have been Raw Water cooled for their entire life, do not spend a dime on the over-haul. You will have interior rust scale that has not adhered to any rules nor pattern.

Instead, pick up a pair of 360 (not 318) automotive cores for your rebuilds.
No one has ever complained about having more available torque and horse power!

The Chrysler cylinder heads incorporate a wedge shaped combustion chamber and a quench surface.
Take advantage of the quench surface by using the correct piston profile in your rebuild.

Here's an older thread regarding the 360 over-haul and taking advantage of the quench effect.

http://www.marineengine.com/boat-forum/showthread.php?434986-Thoughts-on-my-engine-build

As for Std LH rotation and RH Reverse rotation:

If straight shaft drives, the Starboard engine is typically the RH Reverse rotation engine.
If V drives, the Port engine may be your RH Reverse rotation engine.

If someone had installed transmissions that are "opposite of engine rotation" capable, then both engines may be Std LH Rotation.

If you can bump them over via the starter motor, you will see which is which.

Engine rotation is determined by viewing the flywheel end...... not by viewing the front end!

CCW rotation = Std LH
CW rotation = Rev RH

Attachments