Logo

1984 70hp Johnson. Very bizarre electrical issue! Need help!

Jack70hp

As stated above, I own a 1984 Johnson 70. This motor has been a workhorse! However, here recently I’ve run into an an issue that has be stumped. While on the water, the motor runs great, however, if I encounter rough water for an extended period of time the motor will suddenly stall out. Once the motor dies there is absolutely no chance of getting it to come back on. Gas tank checked, fuel lines checked, fuel connections checked. It does not appear to be a fuel issue, seeing as how the motor does not fire at all! This is where it gets weird, once I get the motor back home and it sits up for roughly one day, the motor fires right up with no issue whatsoever. In particular, the motor will start running as soon as it’s completely dry, leading me to believe something is grounding out perhaps. In the end I’m no mechanic and don’t have the money to start throwing new parts on. Any insight or redirection will be greatly appreciated!

If you're caught in a bad natured following sea whereas waves are breaking over the engine, water is eventually going to be drawn into the fuel area (carburetor throats). If this is the case, yeah... it would take a good days length of time to dry out. And again, if this is the case, you're lucky that you don't have a bunch of rusty parts.

Putting the above aside for the time being as not happening and as you suspect, the problem is ignition. The real test would be to do a spark test after the engine fails and will not restart... however, for the moment, do the following spark test to see what you have now.
(Spark Test)
With all of the spark plugs removed, rig a spark tester so that the spark has a 7/16" gap to jump. The spark should jump that 7/16" gap with a strong blue lightning like flame... a real SNAP! Does it?
No tester?... Build The Following)
(Spark Tester - Home Made)
(J. Reeves)