Logo

93 4.3 engine swap questions

Warren2019

I have a 93 deck boat with a 4.3 that has a cracked block. I’ve been reading quite a bit and it sounds like a truck engine will bolt up. I came across a 94 S-10 with a 4.3.
I’m looking for any info on the compatibility and fit for these two engines. Im new to boats but am more than capable to pull an engine and swap it. I just want to make sure the years are a fit.

As long as the Marine components (ignition system, starter motor, alternator, fuel delivery system, etc) are used on the 4.3L S-10 engine, it can be made to work if the original engine was fitted with a Closed Cooling System, and if you bring the Closed Cooling System over to the S-10 engine.

However, if the original 4.3L engine was raw water cooled, and if you use the S-10 engine in a raw water cooled installation, you will eventually have an issue with the automotive head gaskets.

As long as the Marine components (ignition system, starter motor, alternator, fuel delivery system, etc) are used on the 4.3L S-10 engine, it can be made to work if the original engine was fitted with a Closed Cooling System, and if you bring the Closed Cooling System over to the S-10 engine.

However, if the original 4.3L engine was raw water cooled, and if you use the S-10 engine in a raw water cooled installation, you will eventually have an issue with the automotive head gaskets.

So if I just change out the head gaskets then am I good? I figured I’d have to change the add on items already. But didn’t consider the cooling system difference. Also another response was mentioning the cam. How much is that needed? I’m good doing what is needed but want to make sure it’s all done before the new engine is sitting inside the boat.