Logo

Honda BF50 (5hp, pre-1997) Spark Plug Cap

KevinClancy

Hey Gang, I have a old, probably 1980's Honda 5hp outboard. I was changing the spark plug and the spark plug cap came off the lead wire. I can't tell if the cap is designed to come off, but I wouldn't think so. I put it back on and the motor started, but failed to run properly. It idles, but only if you give it full throttle and then it only sputters. Can anyone give me some advice on hw o properly install the spark plug cap? I am not very good with motor issues. Thanks! Kevin

Thanks. I've watched that video. It looks like my cap is different. It looks like it has a "point" that goes into the plug wire and not a clamp fitting. If I do any mods to the wire, I don't think that it will reach the plug. It's short. I might need to buy a new coil assembly in order to get enough plug cord length. The coil assembly is about $80 and the cap is about $10, so it not a lot of money, I was just wondering if I was missing something. I'll take a couple of pics when I get home tonight.

Thanks. I've watched that video. It looks like my cap is different. It looks like it has a "point" that goes into the plug wire and not a clamp fitting. If I do any mods to the wire, I don't think that it will reach the plug. It's short. I might need to buy a new coil assembly in order to get enough plug cord length. The coil assembly is about $80 and the cap is about $10, so it not a lot of money, I was just wondering if I was missing something. I'll take a couple of pics when I get home tonight.

The point you see up in the cap is actually a brass screw. So you push the wire in and turn the cap clockwise until you feel it snug up. If it doesn't snug up, you may need to trim just a little off the end of the wire, 1/8 to 1/4 max. Most of the coil packs are this way too, so if you like, you can replace with a compatible piece of plug cable.