Logo

Oil Light On At Higher RPM

BobFino

Hello,
I have a 2010 BF30 Honda Outboard. Great motor until now. At low RPMs it runs great. If I increase the RPM's it runs for about 2 to 3 minutes and then the oil light comes on with alarm and it lowers the RPM's to what I am assuming is a safe RPM. Spoke to a couple mechanics and they all agree that it probably is not the oil sender. I am thinking it could be. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

A little confusing, the oil light should be on all the time when the engine is running, you sure it's not an overheat issue?

The red light for oil only comes on when the alarm sounds. The temp light is on and green. When I check the water coming out it is cool so I am thinking not a heat problem but I am no expert for sure. I had a mechanic suggest I take out the oil sending unit and clean it, have you heard of cleaning an electrical sensor? Thank you

Oil sensors are routinely cleaned to remove sludge or debris that may be keeping them from working properly. The one wire sensors are electrical pressure switches but do have an internal mechanical mechanism that the pressurized oil pushes against. The very small orifice where the oil enters the sensor can get plugged. Although, I doubt that is what is happening with yours since it seems to work at lower rpm when oil pressure would be at it's lowest value.

If you are running the oil at too high a level, it can be aerated (whipped into a frothy foam). This can starve the pump and cause low pressure at high rpm. Make sure your oil level is below the "FULL" mark on the dipstick.

If you think your engine is "making oil" then there may be oil dilution from poor combustion causing gasoline contamination. This is usually caused by defective thermostat(s) keeping the engine from reaching normal operating temperature.